Territorial validity of coordination rules

The Treaty of Accession to the European Union (EU), extended the material, personal and territorial scope of Regulations (EEC) 1408/71 and 574/72 to ten new States as from 1 May 2004: the Czech Republic, the Republic of Estonia, the Republic of Cyprus, the Republic of Latvia, the Republic of Lithuania, the Republic of Hungary, the Republic of Malta, the Republic of Poland, the Republic of Slovenia and the Slovak Republic. 

On 9 December 2011 leaders from the EU and Croatia signed the accession treaty. The country became the EU member country on 1 July 2013.

The new Regulations (EC) No 883/2004 and (EC) No 987/2009 apply to the territory of the following Member States: Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark (excluding Greenland), Estonia, Finland, France (including Corsica and overseas departments – Guadeloupe, Martinique, Réunion, French Guiana, but excluding the overseas territories in Australasia and the Antarctic, French Polynesia, Mayotte, New Caledonia, Wallis, Saint-Pierre-Miquelon and Futuna), Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, the Netherlands, Poland, Portugal (including the autonomous regions of Madeira and the Azores), Austria, Romania, the Slovak Republic, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Italy, the United Kingdom (including Northern Ireland and Gibraltar) and Norway, Iceland, Liechtenstein and Switzerland. 

  • Move to top
  • Print to PDF
  • Print page